Summer Reads: My Version of Beach Reading

Summer beach reads
{image via Vanity Fair}

“Read more” is perpetually on my to-do list, but two times a year, the goal gets a renewed interest: New Years resolution time and the start of beach season. I love checking out the best seller lists and summer reading recommendations, so I was all about this site my friend sent me, Literary Doppelgangers. It basically tells you if you liked this book, you’ll also like this one. So after some research (which turned into an internet rabbit hole of way too many books I want to read) here are my top ten for the summer.

1. A Hundred Summers This is on pretty much everyone’s summer reading list, and I just downloaded it on my Nook for this weekend. It takes the classic beach read formula of socialites, seaside living and romance and brings it back to 1930s Rhode Island.

A Hundred Summers novel

2. The Tipping Point I’ve always wanted to read this, and feel like I should balance out all my seaside scandal novels.

The Tipping Point

3. Beautiful Fools The story of Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald’s tumultuous romance set in–where else?–Cuba.

Beautiful Fools

4. Where’d You Go Bernadette Because sometimes I judge books by their cover. (And it’s supposed to be excellent.)

Where'd You Go Bernadette

5. Gone Girl So I can finally join in on the “Gone Girl” chats that spring to life every time reading comes up in conversation.

Gone Girl

6. A Moveable Feast Hemingway’s memoir set in 1920s Paris? I’m almost embarrassed to say I haven’t read it yet.

A Moveable Feast

7. A Place at the Table Focusing on the magic of food and Manhattan (two fabulous subjects), I’m curious to see if this newby is worth all the buzz its getting.

A Place at the Table

8. Ladies’ Night While there’s a big chance this novel is seriously cheesy, that’s part of the fun of beach reads. Plus, it’s about a lifestyle blogger going through divorce counseling, which sounds promising.

Ladies Night

9. Tell the Wolves I’m Home Definitely a more somber book (it was on Oprah’s list last year, so you know it’ll bring the tears), this is about a coming-of-age-story set against the backdrop of the 1980s AIDS scene.

Tell the Wolves I'm Home

10. True Love (Nantucket Brides Trilogy) And just because I can’t do a summer reading list without something based on the Cape or the Islands. Plus, Vanity Fair put this on their beach read list, so you know it’s got to be the cream of the crop when it comes to preppy and predictable New England romance reads.

True Love Nantucket Brides

2 thoughts on “Summer Reads: My Version of Beach Reading

Leave a Reply

